Pokemon Go Fest 2020: Day 1 schedule and Ultra Unlock Bonuses revealed

Pokemon Go Fest 2020: Day 1 schedule and Ultra Unlock Bonuses revealed

Niantic sent over the schedule for Day 1 of Pokemon Go Fest 2020, and it’s going to be packed. The event will give players plenty of opportunities to catch sought-after shinies with the rotating habitats, but what’s more important is the traditional Ultra Unlock bonuses that’s tied to the event.

That means even if you aren’t participating, you will benefit from what happens at Pokemon Go Fest 2020. On the other hand, that also puts a lot of pressure on the attendees. Here is what’s going on for day for those meticulous planners.

UPDATE: Niantic increased Pokemon storage. The max is 3,500 now. I still advise you to make more room for Go Fest via transferring or trades.

SCHEDULE
The rotating habitats will run as follows. All events are scheduled for Eastern time and moves over to Pacific Time. It’s a little complicated but pay attention. The schedule applies to your time zone.

  • 10 a.m. EDT — Battle (The event begins for East Coast players.)
  • 11 a.m. EDT — Friendship
  • 12 p.m. EDT — Fire
  • 1 p.m. EDT/ 10 a.m. PDT — Water (The event begins for West Coast players.)
  • 2 p.m. EDT/ 11 a.m. PDT — Grass
  • 3 p.m. EDT/ 12 p.m. PDT — Battle
  • 4 p.m. EDT/ 1 p.m. PDT — Friendship
  • 5 p.m. EDT/ 2 p.m. PDT — Fire
  • 6 p.m. EDT/ 3 p.m. PDT — Water
  • 7 p.m. EDT/ 4 p.m. PDT — Grass
  • 8 p.m. EDT/ 5 p.m. PDT — Battle (Event ends for East Coast players)
  • 6 p.m. PDT — Friendship
  • 7 p.m. PDT — Fire
  • 8 p.m. PDT — (Event ends for West Coast Players.)

ULTRA UNLOCK BONUSES
Now that you know the habitats for each hour, let’s take a look at the Ultra Unlock bonuses. Throughout the day, trainers will have 32 global challenges that they can complete. They can keep track using the Global Challenge Arena in the Today View of “Pokemon Go.” Achieving the goal opens up themed weeks following the event. For clarification’s sake, Ultra Bonuses are open to all trainers. They are rewards that Go Fest players earn for everyone globally. You do not need to be a ticket-holder to participate in the events after Go Fest. They are the following:

Ultra unlock Week 1: Dragon Week — Complete 8 challenges
Ultra unlock Week 2: Enigma Week — Complete 16 challenges
Ultra unlock Week 3: Unova Week — Complete 24 challenges

Here’s what trainers get for Dragon Week, which runs 1 p.m. July 31 to 1 p.m. Aug. 7

The following Pokemon will appear more in the wild:
Alolan Exeggutor (shiny available)
Horsea (shiny available) — This was last year’s shiny debut for Pokemon Go Fest in Chicago.
Dratini (shiny available) — Dragonite has seem to always have an important role in Master League teams.
Bagon (shiny available) — This is a must grab for PvP and some raid purposes.
Trapinch (shiny available) — This Pokemon has appeared in a Community Day. This is your second chance at getting a useful Pokemon in some Go Battle League leagues.
Swablu (shiny available) — This evolves into Altaria, which is a staple in the GBL. It may also be a factor because of a possible Mega Evolution.
Gible (shiny available) but will be more rare. — This Pokemon’s final form Garchomp is excellent in the Premier Cup.

The following Pokemon will be common in 7k eggs:
Dratini (shiny available)
Bagon (shiny available)
Trapinch (shiny available)
Swablu (shiny available)
Gible and Deino will also be in eggs but much rarer. Both can be shiny.

Rayquaza will be in five-star raids from 1 p.m. July 31 to1 p.m. Aug. 7

As I mentioned before, this week will introduce shiny Deino. It is green like money or the Incredible Hulk. Its Dark/Dragon typing makes it unique and it could be good in future cups.

Here’s what trainers get for Enigma Week. It isn’t as easily themed as Dragon but it does hold some of the odder more psychic-focused Pokemon in the games.
The following Pokemon will appear more in the wild:
Staryu (shiny available) — This is a collectible and one of the original Kanto Pokemon.
Jigglypuff — This is a curious selection. I’m wondering if there is more tied to this Pokemon.
Clefairy (shiny available) — This Pokemon’s shiny version debuted a few weeks ago. If you weren’t able to get it then, you now have a second chance.
Lunatone (shiny available) — The same goes for this Pokemon.
Solrock (shiny available) — Ditto (not the Pokemon) for this one.
Baltoy (shiny available) — This Pokemon could be useful in future cups and the shiny version is OK.
Bronzor (shiny available) — This is also another niche Pokemon. If you missed out on an opportunity to get a shiny version, this is a good chance to get one.
Elgyem — I know nothing about this Pokemon other than it has a beehive-shaped head. It is also psychic.

Pokemon available in raids:
Bronzong
Claydol
Elgyem
Unown U, L, T, R, and A. Those are for people who may have missed them last year. I’d get at least one of each just for the Unown medal.

Deoxys will be available and it can be shiny. It’s a gorgeous color scheme of yellow and green. It kind of reminds me of the Jamaican flag.

This is also the debut of shiny Staryu. It’s nice. I’m not particularly impressed because the color intensity. I like my shinies so blazing sun brilliant you have to shield your eyes.

Here is what trainers will face for Unova Week, which will debut a slew of new Pokemon. They include Sewaddle (It looks like Caterpie’s cousin.), Cottonee, Emolga and Bouffalant. As the name of the week suggests, it’s all about the Unova region and coincidentally enough New York City and Surrounding Areas will enjoy a little something extra. The Unova region is based on the Big Apple. That’s the connection. Bouffalant will be available to encounter and will be in eggs in those areas. It makes me wish I could visit but I wouldn’t get on a plane right now.
Unova Week runs from 1 p.m. Aug. 14 to 1 p.m. Aug 21.

The following Pokemon will hatch from 7k eggs and will appear in the wild: Sewaddle, Cottonee, and other pocket monsters from the region. The rare find will be Emolga. It’s pretty much flying squirrel Pikachu.

Additionally, Rogenrolla and other Unova Pokemon will be in raids.

When it comes to Legendaries, Genesect will be in five-star raids and it can be shiny. Finally, shiny Roggenrola will make its debut. This is another one with a beautiful color swap. I’d recommend going hard for this.

Continue…